Posted on

I’m not a runner…

I never have been. But I roller skate, and I used to play roller derby. I’ve played all positions, but naturally the most challenging was the Jammer. Talk about endurance. If you don’t understand roller derby go Here for a rundown. You have to skate your heart out for two minutes straight while looking for holes and ways to get around the blockers who are trying to take you down as if their lives depended on it. It’s intense, brutal and requires everything you got.

But that is still nothin compared to running the race of your faith.

Jesus is the author and perfecter of our faith. The author of Hebrews says that it is for discipline that we have to endure. Automatically many of us probably look at discipline in a negative light, but it is so meant for good. Not that it’s always carried out that way, but it’s intended to grow us and teach us. I’m a mother, when my child disobeys, there are consequences, it’s my duty to discipline and I do it because I love her and wish for her to be sanctified by it. The author of Hebrews in that same passage also points out for us our example, and that is Christ. He suffered the death we deserve, endured the cross, for the JOY that was set before Him.

This month had been a rough one. Although I would say my faith has not been shaken, my flesh has still been weak. Through the trials the Lord has brought me, I’ve failed to thank Him, I’ve instead been angry, not looking as these trials as a way for Him to sanctify me, and grow me through them.

But today I’ve been convicted of that and therefore give thanks to the Author and Perfecter for the trials I have been facing, for the people who have let me down, for the grace to forgive, for the strength to endure. I will run this race, because He has granted me life, and given me the ability to do so.

Add your two cents!

