Posted on

Hindsight is always 20-20.

I know, cliche, right? But as cliche as that may be, there is so much truth to it. When we are in the midst of our day to day we can’t see more then what is in front of us. We may look backwards clear as day, and forward is the unknown, for we don’t know if we should even have a minute more. But I think of the past as a work of art the Master Painter has hung in the gallery of our lives. Some of the pieces are bright and cheery bringing joy to the onlooker. Some dark and eerie. But none the less they are clear, not abstract and we look back at them with the full clarity of having already been brought through it.

As the end of this year draws near, I find myself thinking back on the events that occurred, or didn’t occur, and usually read through my prayer journal to see those prayers that God has answered. The trials He has grown me in and delivered me through, the people He has brought in and out of my life and tend to find myself in awe of His majesty.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not always walking in the awe of my Savior, I’m still a sinner, my heart and my mind are not perfect, but I am thankful for those reminders because when I see clearly and honestly the depth of my own wickedness, the beauty of God’s saving grace always shines that much brighter. I still need to remember that applies also to others, but I’m learning.

Anyway, this year has sure brought me many challenges, a little grief and a lot of joy. Last December I helped our company open a new store, and that has been quite the journey, getting a business off the ground is tough and I certainly have a new found respect for those of you out there that have done it, and done it successfully.

My little girl is not quite as little these days. She is a very sweet little girl that brings me a lot of joy, and I have to laugh at some of the things she has said this year. She informed me that cleavage is called “boob-crack” that she has taken an interest in “Crotch Stitching” and the thing that birds eat out of are called “feed birder’s”, just to name a few. I surely enjoy the time we spend together.

I started taking a drawing class and have found that I am developing a talent for it, and really really enjoy it. Lulu is taking it as well and has always been quite the artist so it’s neat to see her skills develop.

I also started taking a class on Biblical Greek, and while I also really enjoy that, I’m not the greatest student in the world, but I still keep up, for the most part. It’s definitely a lot harder then I anticipated. I do however enjoy the challenge.

I acquired everything needed for a darkroom. I’ve always had a love for photography, but even more so a love of chemicals. 🙂 So working in a darkroom has always been a dream for me and this year, it came true.

Lastly I realized this Christmas season just how great my job really is. I get to forge new relationships everyday, and even though it’s only a short time we spend together, that short time has an impact. I’ve received many cards from my customers this year thanking me for great service. I am especially thankful for all of my customers, they make my day a little brighter and remind me who it is I truly work for.

Anyway, this year has had a lot of ups and downs and as I focus on living one day at a time I pray that this upcoming year I will foster an even greater joy for God’s word, and that I would bind it around my heart. I pray that I would love others more than myself, that I would die to myself DAILY as Christ requires of us. That I would spend more time in the Word, spend more time with the body of believers I’ve come to love deeply, taking hold of those opportunities to share my faith and reach out to those in need, and spend more time in prayer. As A.W. Tozer puts it The Christian is strong or weak depending upon how closely he has cultivated the knowledge of God.

I also thank those of you who take the time to read my ramblings.

Merry Christmas!

O Come, O Come Emmanuel performed by Belle And Sebastian

Add your two cents!

